The Strömfors Iron Works offers visitors the chance to enjoy relaxing holidays in a beautiful and historically significant environment. The old craftsmen tradition is continued at the iron works, which makes the setting unique. Life in the century-old area continues whilst maintaining old traditions.
The governor of Uusimaa and Turku province, Johan Creutz, founded the iron works in the westernmost junction of the Kymijoki River in 1698. Strömfors Iron Works got its name in 1744, when Jacob Forsell and Anders Nohrström acquired the iron works. In 1790, the iron works got a new manager, the 31-year-old Virginia af Forselles, who managed Strömfors Iron Works for almost 60 years. A large part of the well-kept environment and constructions currently on display at the iron works are from this period.
In addition to the museums and handicrafts shops, the area has restaurants and a cafés. All year long, visitors can stay at the holiday apartments and the Krouvinmäki inn, which is partly made of clay.
The Iron Works Forge Museum
The Lower Forge
The waters of the westernmost branch of Kymijoki spinned the Strömfors Iron Work's waterwheels for about 250 years, keeping the waterhammers in motion and the blacksmiths and workers busy. In the museum you can see what the Iron Works looked like before and which instruments were used while producing iron objects like nails and tools.
The Upper Forge
There is a completely restored and functioning iron workshop from the olden days.
The Forge Museum
is open 2018:
12-31 May and 13-31 August Sat-Sun at 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
1 June- 12 August daily at 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Museum's web page is here: loviisa.fi
at the Upper Forge in the summer 2018
12 May, 2 June-25 August on Saturdays at 12 noon - 2 p.m.
and Sunday 26 August at 12 noon - 2 p.m.
Exhibitions also by request.
Cruises on the Kymijoki river
on 9 June, 7 July, 4 August
at 11 a.m., 12.15 p.m., 1.30 p.m. and 2.45 p.m.
Start from the museum pier, Ruukintie 11 A, 07970 Ruotsinpyhtää.
The cruise takes about 1 hour.
It is also possible to come to Strömfors from Pyhtää at 10 a.m. and travel back at 4 p.m.
Also charter cruises tel. + 358 44 343 3100, kartingclub.fi
The church of Ruotsinpyhtää
The church is situated at Myllärinmäki and it was finished in 1770. The biggest treasure in the church is the altar painting ''The Resurrection'' made by the famous artist Helene Schjerfbeck from the year 1898.
Open in summer 2018:
5 June – 11 August Tue-Sat at 10 a.m.-5 p.m. and Sun at 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
12-26 August Sun at 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Mass on Sundays at 10 a.m. Free entrance.
Address of the church: Ruukintie 11 C, 07970 Ruotsinpyhtää
Contact information: The parish of Ruotsinpyhtää
Address of the parish: Kirkkoherrankuja 6, 07970 Ruotsinpyhtää
tel. +358 (0)44 722 9217, ruotsinpyhtaanseurakunta.fi
At the Tallinvintti Gallery there are varying exhibitions in summers.
Open during exhibitions 5 May – 9 September Tue-Sun at 11 a.m.-5 p.m.
Address: Talli, Ruukintie 10 F, 07970 Ruotsinpyhtää
It is possible to rent the gallery. Contact the association Vireä Strömfors.
The Kukuljärvi trail
The Kukuljärvi hiking trail's starting point is at the village centre's sports centre. The trail is about 8 km long and there are cliffs and bogs.
It is possible to swim at Kukuljärvi and grill sausages at the recreation site.
Maps available here and at the Loviisa Tourist Office
+358 (0)40 555 3387, email@example.com
and in summers also at the Iron Works Tourist Info.
Experience Eija's Garden!
A true experience for all garden enthusiasts is a visit to the English inspired gardens of Eija's Garden. Eija's Garden is open to the public from spring to autumn. In addition to the garden, the area hosts a garden shop. The site also organises different garden courses. eijasgarden.fi
Group tours and guides:
Loviisa Tours - Porvoo Tours
Loviisa Tours provides group tour programmes and guides in Loviisa and the eastern Uusimaa.
tel. +358 (0)19 574 2200
Iron Works Tourist Info
The Tourist Information of the Strömfors Iron Works is in the Lower Forge.
Open in the summer 2018
1 June – 12 August daily at 11 a.m.–5 p.m.
12–31 May and 13–31 August 11 a.m.–5 p.m.
Exception: 28–29 July closed
Address: Ruukintie 11 A, Fi-07970 Ruotsinpyhtää
tel. +358 (0) 440 555 366
Further information in winter:
Loviisa Tourist Office
tel. +358 (0)40 555 3387, firstname.lastname@example.org
Check the brochure of the Strömfors Iron Works here!