The Town Museum of Loviisa is located in the Commandant´s House, which dates from 1755. In front of the house is a beautiful garden, which presents typical decorative and useful plants from the past.
Open in 2019:
winter Tue–Fri & Sun at 12 noon–4 p.m.
June–Sept. Tue–Sun at 11 a.m.–5 p.m.
Closed during Midsummer.
A unique private collection of old farming equipment exhibited.
Open in July on Sundays from 12 noon until 5 p.m.
as well as on the Olden Days August 24th–25th 2019,
or throughout the year on advance booking.
The smallest shop museum in Finland is a private museum with shop objects from the 1950s and 1960s displayed.
The museum is open on a few occasions in the summer.
The Maritime Museum has collections and exhibitions related to the town’s seafaring history. One of the museum’s pearls is the saloon of the steamboat s/s Virgo.
The special exhibition in the summer of 2019 “Laivasilta before and now”, presents images, objects and stories related to the Laivasilta harbour and the traditional seafaring in the region.
There is a small shop called Kesäkipparit in the museum.
The museum is open from June 1st until September 1st 2019 on Mondays through Sundays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m
Entrance 3 € /adults, children under 12 for free.
The Archipelago Museum presents life and the history in the eastern Uusimaa archipelago. Rönnäs lies some 30 km west of the centre of Loviisa.
Special exhibition of summer 2019:
Sea without boundaries
It is open from 19 June to 11 August
Wed–Sun. at 12 noon–5 p.m.
Museum in the Upper Forge at the Strömfors Iron Works.
11–31 May &
1 June–31 Aug.
Mon–Sun at 10 a.m.–6 p.m.
(Closed on 21–22 June)